It was Hennops with a difference this year, as the XL Race has been moved to Leeuwenkloof on 26 November. But there was no less buzz, and certainly plenty of beautiful trail for runners to enjoy on both the Short and Long Courses.

As an appropriate mark of the onset of summer, a massive thunder storm rolled in the night prior, leaving the Wildrunner team without power and somewhat nervous around what would be waiting at the venue the following morning. But by 5am, a beautiful sunrise welcomed runners, and blue sky peeked through.

Michael Farreira came out on top in the Long Course in a time of 1:04:19. He was followed by Sean Fietjie in 1:05:18, and Leon Scholtz was third in 1:10:16. It was great to see Ezra Ferreira, regular short course winner, stepping up to the Long this year. In the women’s race, Marelise Retief, winner of the recent Wildcoast Wildrun®, won in a time of 1:14:37 with Peret Badenhost in second with a time of 1:22:01. Harriet Kingston rounded off the podium in 1:25:59.

The winter series® short course defending champ, Ryno Van Vollenhoven, dominated the Short Course, taking 2 minutes off his winter time, finishing in 26:38. Second was Daniel Ellis (running in the Minimee category) in a time of 31:18. Third, another Minimee, was Cayde de Waal. Also the winter series® defending champ, Michelene Kahl won the women’s race in 32:37, with Helen Walsh second in 37:18. Robyn Dykes was third in a time of 40:36.

Thank you to our partners Spur Sports, Raidlight South Africa, Steenberg Vineyards, Peak Performance Fitness, Mountain Dew and Capri-Sun. We also could not put on these events without our gracious venue hosts, and Hennops is a gem of a venue.

Entries for Race 2 are selling fast, so follow the link and don’t miss a morning of racing at Segwati. More on the Race 2 route here! See you all again soon.