You would have been forgiven if you thought the third race of the Spur Cape Winter Trail Series™ took place on a summer’s day as the sun shone down on over 900 trail runners at the Taal Monument in Paarl.

Traditionally known as the fastest course of the Series, this year was no different with the winners of both the long and short courses putting in scintillating performances as they blitzed their way around the Paarl Mountain Reserve before finishing at the inspiring Taal Monument.

In the 13.5km long course Championship, Tsungai Mwanengeni and Liandi van der Westhuyzen took control of the Series as they both claimed their second victories of the current Series. They now only need to put in another consistent performance of the final race of the Series to secure the title.

Mwanengeni showed the value of his experience as he beat the young gun, Raydon Balie to the line in the 13.5km Championship race in a time of 55:58. Balie wasn’t far behind in 57:44 and it’s clear that with a bit more experience he is going to become a tough competitor on the trails. Third over the line was Damian Will in 58:23 as he made it onto the podium for the first time in the Championship.

Liandi van der Westhuyzen was back in top spot after losing out on first place at the second race of the Series as she crossed the line as the first lady in a time of 1:09:52. The second lady home was the relatively unknown Helen Wolfaardt in 1:11:54 while Ellie Courts showed that she just gets better with age as she came home in third place in a time of 1:12:48.

Short course battle shapes up
The racing has been exhilarating in the short course Challenge and this weekend was no different as Dawood Goeieman, Llewelyn Jacobs, Eugene Poss, Andre Afrika, Daniel Arendse and Bruzano Britz continued their fast-paced battle at the front of the short course field. 

This week Goeieman managed to cross the line in the front as he blitzed the 7.5km course in 31:04. Only 17 seconds later, Andre Afrika took second place in 31:21. Third and fourth place was split by just four seconds as Eugene Poss claimed third across the line in 31:39 with Llewelyn Jacobs breathing down his neck.

Liezl du Plooy took full advantage of the perfect conditions and secured her first win of the Series as she romped home in 42:50, just ahead of Lynn Brennan who was across the line in 43:27. Third lady home in the short course was Karen le Roux in a time of 49:55.

It was a spectacular day on the trails for all involved and we can’t wait to take on the fourth race of the Series in two weeks’ time at Kleinmond. With the quality of running we’ve experienced thus far, the racing at the final race is sure to give us some more quality times in another stunning location. Click here to get your entry for this race now!

A big thank you to all the runners for the support and for making our events super special and also to our sponsors, Spur Steak Ranches, BOS Ice Tea, Protea Hotels and Graham Beck, who play a big part in the Spur Trail Series™ success.

Click here for results and here for photos.